Taking Back Sunday

Reuniting the lineup that first propelled the band into the spotlight eight years ago, Taking Back Sunday's self-titled fifth studio album features original members John Nolan and Shaun Cooper, who departed in 2003 to form Straylight Run. TBS, now composed of Adam Lazzara, Eddie Reyes, Mark O'Connel, Nolan, and Cooper, found mainstream success with the release of its second album Where You Want to Be in 2004, then again in 2006 with its major label debut Louder Now. 2009's New Again proved to be a minor letdown, with Lazarra stating in an interview, "That record was a gigantic step backwards for us." But their new album, which hits stores June 28, is already garnering critical praise. Rather than aiming to make Taking Back Sunday a sequel, the band seems to be hoping to play off the strengths that made Tell All Your Friends a post-hardcore staple. With Thursday, Colour Revolt, The New Regime. JOE WILLIAMS

Sat., June 18, 6 p.m., 2011

comments powered by Disqus

Friends to Follow